Press Release

Benedictine University at Springfield to Enter AMC in 2011-12

Thursday, August 4, 2011
by Steve Wilson

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - The American Midwest Conference has announced the addition of Benedictine University at Springfield for the 2011-12 season, bringing conference membership to nine schools in three states.

The announcement of Ben. U-Springfield's addition to the league was made at the American Midwest Conference meetings, which took place at Harris-Stowe State University, in St. Louis, Mo., on Aug. 1.

The Bulldogs currently offer nine athletics programs, including five programs that will compete in AMC fall sports. Ben U-Springfield will compete in both men's and women's soccer, volleyball, and men's and women's cross country in the fall.

In the spring, the Bulldogs will field men's and women's golf, baseball and softball teams, and the Bulldogs' first official contest as an AMC member will come Aug. 27, in Springfield, when the Park University women's soccer team travels to Ben U-Springfield in the season opener for both schools.

"We are looking forward to the increased level of competition that the American Midwest Conference will give Benedictine University at Springfield," said Benedictine Director of Athletics Nikki Bull-Eguez, who represented the school at league meetings on Monday. "With that said, we plan to be a competitive member of this conference, and we will work hard to be successful across the board in this great association."

Benedictine-Springfield will join eight already-established members in the American Midwest Conference, including Columbia College, Hannibal-LaGrange University, Harris-Stowe State University, Missouri Baptist University, Park University, Stephens College, William Woods University and Williams Baptist College, the league's only member in the state of Arkansas. Benedictine-Springfield will be the AMC's only member in Illinois, while the remaining seven are Missouri institutions.

Benedictine University at Springfield is an independent Roman Catholic institution located in the Illinois state capital. Founded in 1887, Benedictine provides 17 undergraduate majors, five graduate and one doctorate program in Springfield, in addition to a wide range of athletic opportunities for students through membership in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA).

Small class sizes assure students personal attention and the opportunity to succeed. The University's Adult Accelerated Program gives working adults the opportunity to complete their degree at a pace that meets their needs and lifestyle. Benedictine University at Springfield's accredited courses of study offer exceptional academic as well as practicum experience in core curricular areas, preparing students to excel as lifelong leaders and learners in both their scholarly disciplines and professional fields of study.

Contact Information

Carolyn Carpenter
Director of Public Relations