Press Release

HLGU Professor, Mark Quintanilla, Receives Fulbright Award

Friday, July 20, 2012
by Carolyn Carpenter

  The U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board announced recently that Mark Quintanilla, a history professor at Hannibal-LaGrange University, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant. Quintanilla will lecture as well as research the national history of the countries of St. Vincent and the Grenadines along with the Dominica during the 2012-2013 academic year.

   Mark QuintanillaQuintanilla is the first HLGU Fulbright Scholar as well as the first Scholar to be working in SVG and Dominica throughout the nine month program. “We share in Dr. Quintanilla’s excitement in realizing a goal toward which he has been working for many years,” stated David Pelletier, Ph.D., VP for Academic Affairs. Because both countries are young, part of Quintanilla’s trip will be spent helping public schools develop their own curriculum apart from the history lessons they receive from Britain which contain a British bias. In addition to this, he will be mentoring faculty and guest lecturing as well as working on two books he is currently writing.

Quintanilla is one of approximately 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program in 2012-2013.

 The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. The Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given approximately 310,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and athletics. Forty-three Fulbright alumni from 11 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 81 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes. Prominent Fulbright alumni include: Muhammad Yunus, Founder, Grameen Bank, and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; John Atta Mills, President of Ghana; Lee Evans, Olympic Gold Medalist; Rita Dove, former U.S. Poet Laureate and 1987 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry recipient; Riccardo Giacconi, Physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; Amar Gopal Bose, Chairman and Founder, Bose Corporation; Renee Fleming, soprano; Jonathan Franzen, Writer; and Daniel Libeskind, Architect.

Fulbright recipients are among more than 40,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. For more than sixty years, the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs has funded and supported programs that seek to promote mutual understanding and respect between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education. 

Contact Information

Carolyn Carpenter
Director of Public Relations