Press Release

HLGU EMT-B Students Receive Certificates

Thursday, July 26, 2012
by Carolyn Carpenter

Hannibal-LaGrange University’s first EMT-Basic Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday, June 30, 2012 in the Burt Administration Building on the campus of HLGU. Dr. Anthony Allen, HLGU President, welcomed those in attendance and gave the opening prayer. David Pelletier, Ph.D., Vice President of Academic Affairs, introduced Anne Riggs, MSN, RN, Division of Nursing and Allied Health Director, along with Dot Lake, BS/EMT-P, Division of Nursing and Allied Health Emergency Medical Services Coordinator.

EMT-B graduates included: Cassandra Boggs, Ivory Brokes, Dylan Crane, Tim Dabney, Frederick Deters, Jesse Ellsworth, Matthew Miller, Makaila Ohnemus, Rebeka Peiter, Tyler Power, Daniel Reed, Chase Turner, and Jaykob Voepel.

Classes for the Fall 2012 EMT-Basic program will begin on August 25 from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm (with a one hour lunch break) and will be held in the Mathews Science Building. The EMT-B class is a 15 week program.

The EMT-Paramedic class is a 15 month program. Students in class must hold a current license as an EMT-B and pass entrance requirements for admission. This class will meet on Thursdays starting August 23, from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm (with a 1 hour lunch break). The EMT-Paramedic course consists of didactic, hospital, clinical and field internships at a diverse group of hospitals and ambulance services.

For more information regarding these new programs at Hannibal-LaGrange University please contact Anne Riggs at 573.629.3140 or via email at ariggs@hlg.edu

Contact Information

Carolyn Carpenter
Director of Public Relations