Press Release

HLGU Nursing Students Receive Pins and Awards

Friday, May 3, 2013
by Rebecca Sneed

Hannibal-LaGrange University's Division of Nursing and Allied Health held their annual pinning ceremony on Friday, May 3, 2012 at the Parker Theatre in the Roland Fine Arts Center. Twenty-eight nursing students received pins and several received awards or scholarships.

Dr. Anthony Allen, President HLGU was this year's keynote speaker.

"Your life's work will be dedicating to serving and caring for those who need you in their moment of greatest need," he said. "Remember that you have the power to change lives, touch hearts, and bring hope and healing to individuals and their families."

Dr. Allen gave many examples from the Bible regarding the compassionate and serving heart of Jesus and how we are called to do the same.

"As you serve in this most noble profession, I want to remind you today of the greatest characteristic you will possess as a medical professional is compassion. We are never more like Christ and represent God than when we are selflessly serving and ministering to others. Our motto at HLGU is "Knowledge for Service." Now that you have received your training, accumulated your knowledge, go and serve with compassion!"

Also during the ceremony, Anne Riggs, Instructor of Nursing and Director of the HLGU Nursing Division, recognized the HLGU nursing faculty, HLGU nursing graduates, and nurses in the audience for their dedication to the nursing profession. All nurses, nursing faculty, graduates, and students stood to recite the "Nightingale Pledge," an oath for nurses, similar to that of the Hippocratic Oath.

Other portions of the ceremony included a speech from Tina Craven, Nursing Class President, as well as music from a vocal group out of Quincy called Providence 4.0, and presentation of awards. Recipients are as follows:

HLGU Endowed Nursing Scholarship: Rachel Buster The recipient of this scholarship is selected from among first year nursing students who have completed the first year requirements and meet the following criteria: good standing with HLGU, financial need, carry at least a 2.0 GPA, and must write a short essay stating why the Lord Jesus Christ called he or she into the nursing field and how he has used them for his glory.

Dellafaye Martinson Scholarship: Jessie Griffin
This scholarship, funded by the friends and family of the late Dellafaye Martinson, is awarded to an associate degree nursing student who is completing the first year of nursing classes. Selection is made by the nursing faculty on the basis of the following criteria: a minimum CGPA of 3.0, exemplary clinical performance, and cooperative spirit.

Division of Nursing Award: Marie Echelmeier
This cash award is funded by the HLGU nursing faculty and staff and is presented to two nursing students: a graduating ASN student and a graduating BSN student. Recipients are selected by the nursing faculty on the basis of their having consistently displayed a positive attitude toward their nursing education and having maintained at least a 3.0 CGPA.

Donnie Webber Memorial Award: Ceshia Baur
Established this year, this gift is given in honor of Donnie Webber, an adjunct nursing faculty member who passed away in March. The recipient of this award must be a graduating senior nursing student, have a good work ethic, a good sense of humor, and a CGPA of 3.0 or higher.

Missouri League for Nursing Award: Tina Craven
Recipients are selected by the nursing faculty as an outstanding nursing student who meets the following criteria: Leadership potential, active in a student nurse organization, displays good interpersonal skills and an interest in continuing education and professional growth.

Nursing Clinical Achievement Award: Ceshia Baur
Established and funded by the students of the Division of Nursing, this cash award is presented annually to a second-year nursing student who has maintained a CGPA of at least 3.0 and who has shown the greatest improvement in skills and organization related to the clinical area. The recipient is chosen by vote of the second-year nursing class and approved by the nursing faculty.

Northeast Missouri Medical Society Award: Tisha Adair
This award is presented to two students: a graduating ASN student and a graduating BSN student. Recipients are selected by the nursing faculty on the basis of the following criteria: CGPA of 3.0 or above, demonstration of professionalism and a positive attitude toward the education process, and plans to continue employment or seek employment in Northeast Missouri.

Paul Finley and Louise Brown Foreman Memorial Nursing Scholarship: Lyndsay Parker
This scholarship was established at Hannibal-LaGrange University by the Foreman family in memory of their parents, Paul and Louise Foreman, to provide assistance to a nursing student who has completed at least one semester at HLGU. The recipient is selected on the following basis by the Division of Nursing in conjunction with the Financial Aid Committee and a representative of the Foreman family: achieves a minimum CGPA of 2.5 in the preceding semester, demonstrates a dedication to the profession of nursing, resides and intends to practice in either Marion or Ralls County, MO, or within a 40-mile radius of Hannibal, and is a good citizen of both the school and respective community in which he/she resides.

Hannibal-LaGrange University's nursing program offers an Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), LPN to RN program, and BSN online completion program. Nurses have limitless job opportunities, competitive salaries, excellent benefits, and flexible hours.

For more information, contact Director Anne Riggs at 573-629-3143 or via email at ariggs@hlg.edu. To download an application, visit the website at hlg.edu. The program is fully accredited by the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission (NLNAC).

Contact Information

Carolyn Carpenter
Director of Public Relations