Press Release

HLGU Celebrates Practical Nursing Capping Ceremony

Tuesday, May 13, 2014
by Gwenda Pollard

Twenty-eight practical nursing students were honored at a luncheon and capping service on Thursday, May 8, 2014 at Fiddlestik's Restaurant in Hannibal, MO. Although this is the fifty-first capping ceremony for this practical nursing program, this is the second since the program moved to Hannibal-LaGrange University in August 2012. The nursing program was formerly known as the Hannibal Public School of Practical Nursing and was located at the Hannibal Career and Technical Center. The Hannibal-LaGrange University Practical Nursing Program (HLGU-PN Program) is affiliated with Hannibal Regional Hospital, Maple Lawn Nursing Home, Beth Haven Nursing Home, the Hannibal Clinic, Mark Twain Behavioral Health, the NECAC Family Planning Center and the Marion and Ralls County Health Departments.

These twenty-eight practical nursing students have successfully completed the first thirty-six weeks of the fifty-two week program. They were honored by the following HLGU faculty: Anne Riggs, MSN, RN, Director, Division of Nursing and Allied Health; Gwenda Pollard, MSN-Ed, RN-BC, Practical Nursing Coordinator: instructors Denise Crisp, BSN, RN, Karry Young, BSN, RN and Laura Mathews, BSN, RN; and adjunct instructors Anne Wilson, BSN, RN and Cody Smashey RN. Amanda St. Juliana, BSN, RN, Laura Maas, MSN, RN, Kimi Yuchs MA(N), RN and Michelle Wallace, MSN, RN are also adjunct instructors in the program but were not present at the ceremony.

Members of the class receiving recognition for their achievements were: Cassandra Amsden of Griggsville, IL; Casey Austin, Kary Franks, Jennifer Goings-Roach, Kristina Myers and Alexis Norcross of Quincy, IL; Jessica Christy, Teresa Harris and Tara Waters of Monroe City, MO; Chauncey Cogdal, Alex Crane, Shelby Gravett, Samantha Leake, Billie Nichelson, Lyndsey Pafford, Kayla Riley, Gabriel Robertson, Leighan Waelder, Haley Ward and Brooke Zeiger of Hannibal, MO; Kassie Crowe of Palmyra, MO; Elizabeth Gause and Rebecca Jones of Emden, MO; Kelsey Harter of Pleasant Hill, IL; Mackenzie Miller of Stoutsville, MO; Darrien Morrison of Mendon, IL; Jasmine Payton of St. Louis, MO; and Kelly Rossiter of Ursa, IL.

Contact Information

Carolyn Carpenter
Director of Public Relations