Press Release

Fifth Annual Iron Chef Competition a Success

Monday, January 31, 2011
by Beth Sowers

Hannibal, MO - The cafeteria of Hannibal-LaGrange University was home to the fifth annual HLGU Iron Chef Competition, modeled after the Food network’s popular “Iron Chef America,” on Thursday, January 27.

The four teams comprised of faculty, staff, and students included:  Team Coaches Who Can Cook – Darren Funk, Jason Nichols, and Michael Brookshire; Team Kleckner Cooking Crew - Nathalia Parra, Marion Bravo, and Natalia Campos; Team Burt’s B’s – Katherine Burt, Caleb Brookshire, and Rebecca Penner; and Team Phi Beta Delta – Matthew Spurling, Logan Bowser, and Marshal Guthrie. Dr. Robert Bergen, associate dean of academic affairs, and Bryan Abendschein, director of concurrent programs, served as master of ceremonies for the event.

The teams had to use the ingredients provided to make an appetizer, side dish, and main course, as well as the secret ingredient revealed just before the competition began: mushrooms. They were given 90 minutes to complete this task, as onlookers cheered them on. After time was called, each team presented their dishes to the judges. During this time attendees were invited to sample the creations at each work station.

Judges included Glenn Stahlman from Pioneer College Caterers, Rich Cain from WGEM, and current HLGU Homecoming Queen Katie Quigg.

First and second place teams were chosen by the judges based on taste, organization, creativity, team attire, enthusiasm, cleanliness, presentation, completion of all dishes, originality, teamwork, and crowd participation. 

The fifth annual HLGU Iron Chef award medallion winners were: in first place, Coaches Who Can Cook; and in second place, Kleckner Cooking Crew. The winning recipes will be featured in the cafeteria menu.

HLGU Iron Chef is sponsored by HLGU Student Development, Pioneer College Caterers, and County Market. 

For more information about the HLGU Iron Chef competition, please contact Kyle Brennemann, dean of student development, at ext. 3008.

Contact Information

Carolyn Carpenter
Director of Public Relations